Awards and Scholarships

The Women's Forum recognizes and celebrates the achievements of students, faculty and
staff from across the system through award and scholarship programs. All awards and
scholarships are open to any person regardless of sex, race, color, religion, age, national
origin, sexual orientation, marital status, veteran status or disability.  The award is open
to both men and women. Application materials must be received by June 30th for

The USM Women's Forum Student Scholarship (scholarships are $500/student recipient) is open
to all students attending a USM institution. In order to be eligible for the award, you must
have earned a total of 48 undergraduate OR 9 graduate credits, have a minimum GPA of 3.0, be
a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, and have demonstrated financial need.

The USM Women's Forum Professional Staff Development Award (awards range from $250-$1000)
provides funding to eligible staff members currently employed at USM institutions for a minimum of one (1)
years cumulative service (with verification of employment supported by the applicant's
USM institution's Human Resources Department). The USMWF wishes to encourage and
enable staff to pursue training and/or professional development activities to enhance current
job skills and/or seek career advancement opportunities. Funding can be used for non-credit
courses and conferences.

The USM Women's Forum Faculty Research Award (awards range from $500-$1000) is designed to
provide a funding opportunity for faculty who are pursuing research on women's experiences: social,
scientific, economic, political, and health conditions that impact women. All faculty who hold an academic
appointment at any of the USM institutions may apply with preference given to junior
faculty members at the rank of assistant professor, research associate, or instructor. In addition,
faculty must be within five years of their appointment. Only one proposal per investigator will
be considered.

Awards Notification and Acceptance
Scholarship and Development/Research Award recipients will be notified in writing no later than July 31st
and Leadership Award winners by the end of September. All recipients will be invited to accept their award at the
Annual Conference generally held in October/November.